Resource Guides: Fine Arts &amp; Art History: Find Images

Contact UMA Libraries

Find the best images for your research

Images can be crucial for studying art. Here are recommended databases and websites to find high-quality, detailed images of all different kinds of art. Hover over the icon for more information on the resource. For more recommendations, reach out to a librarian.

The Street Pavers, Umberto Boccioni (Italian, Reggio 1882–1916 Sorte), 1914, Oil on canvas. via the Met Museum (metmuseum.org)

Image Databases

Flickr: The Commons This link opens in a new window
The key goal of The Flickr Commons is to share hidden treasures from the world's public photography archives.
National Gallery of Art: The Collection This link opens in a new window Presents information about the collection at the National Gallery of Art in Washington D.C. Allows users to search the collection by artist, title, or a combination of criteria. Contains a list of paintings, sculpture, decorative arts, and works on paper that are grouped by school. Links to the National Gallery of Art.

New York Public Library Digital Gallery

Robert Venn Carr, Jr. Online Gallery (University of Maine) This link opens in a new window The Carr Collection is a subset of the Museum Collection held by the University of Maine Museum of Art. The Carr Online Gallery contains digital surrogates of the nearly 300 modern and contemporary prints that comprise the collection. The gift of Robert Venn Carr, Jr., Class of 1944, the collection includes works by Pablo Picasso, Josef Albers, Andy Warhol, Roy Lichtenstein, David Hockney, Joan Miro and Robert Delaunay, as well as a ine collection of nearly 90 paintings and World War II political cartoons by William Gropper.

Metropolitan Museum of Art Collection Explore more than 490,000 works—from around the world and throughout history—and the research and conversations they inspire.
Rijksmuseum Rijksmuseum's collection is available online via their Rijks Studio. You can create a free account and save your favorite images.

Fine Arts & Art History

Contact UMA Libraries

Find the best images for your research

Image Databases

Using JSTOR & ARTSTOR