Resource Guides: Aviation: Websites

Federal and Private Websites of Interest

TRID is an integrated database that combines the records from TRB’s Transportation Research Information Services (TRIS) Database and the OECD’s Joint Transport Research Centre’s International Transport Research Documentation (ITRD) Database. TRID provides access to more than 1.2 million records of transportation research worldwide.

Airplane Flying Handbook
FAA Regulations
FAA promotes aviation safety in the interest of the American public by regulating and overseeing the civil aviation industry to make sure that the United States is operating a safe aviation industry
FAA Safety Briefing
Published six times a year, FAA Safety Briefing, formerly FAA Aviation News, promotes aviation safety by discussing current technical, regulatory, and procedural aspects affecting the safe operation and maintenance of aircraft.
Code of Federal Regulations via GPO Access
The codification of the general and permanent rules published in the Federal Register by the departments and agencies of the Federal Government.
United States Senate Subcommittee on Aviation
Senate access point for Hearings on aviation.
NASA
NASA.gov brings you images, videos and interactive features from the unique perspective of America's space agency.
Aviation Safety Reporting System
Aviation Safety Reporting System (ASRS) was established in 1975 under a Memorandum of Agreement between the Federal Aviation Administration (FAA) and the National Aeronautics and Space Administration (NASA).
Accident & Incident Data
Preliminary data from the most recent 10 days, from the FAA.
Aeronautical Information Manual
Official Guide to Basic Flight Information and ATC Procedures, “designed to provide the aviation community with basic flight information and ATC procedures for use in the National Airspace System (NAS) of the United States".
Airports Resources Glossary of Acronyms
Related to the U.S. Federal Aviation Administration
Air Traffic Control System Command Center
Select an airport from the map or from the drop-down list to obtain the latest delay information.
Aviation Accident Database
NTSB aviation accident database contains information from 1962 and later about civil aviation accidents and selected incidents within the United States
Aviation Weather Service
NOAA National Weather Service
BTS Transportation Dictionary
The online version of the print title, the Bureau of Transportation Statistics' Transportation Dictionary provides authoritative definitions and cites several sources for each.
Bureau of Transportation Statistics
Airlines statistics
Crash Database
Searchable online database of more than 1,500 commercial airline accident records covering the years of 1969 through 2004.
Air and Space Law - HeinOnline
Suborbital and Outer Space resources.

Associations

Air Line Pilots Association (ALPA)
An international union representing more then 67,000 airline pilots at 47 airlines in the US and Canada. Articles from ALPA's official magazine Air Line Pilot are linked at this site
Aircraft Owners & Pilots Association (AOPA)
American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics
AIAA's mission is to address the professional needs and interests of the past, current, and future aerospace workforce and to advance the state of aerospace science, engineering, technology, operations, and policy to benefit our global society.
Federal Aviation Administration (FAA)
FAA provides a safe, secure, and efficient global aerospace system that contributes to national security and the promotion of US aerospace safety.
National Business Aviation Association (NBAA)
A trade association representing the interests of owners of general aviation aircraft.
National Transportation Safety Board (NTSB)
An independent Federal agency charged by Congress with investigating every civil aviation accident in the United States

Aviation

Contact UMA Libraries

Federal Aviation Administration News

Federal and Private Websites of Interest

Associations