Archives and Special Collections Management

American Archivist is the leading publication in the archives field. Published semi-annually by the Society of American Archivists, this peer-reviewed, online journal seeks to reflect thinking about theoretical and practical developments in the archival profession; the relationships between archivists and the creators and users of archives; and cultural, social, legal, and technological developments that affect the nature of recorded information and the need to create and maintain it. In addition to articles, the journal includes resource reviews that critically engage with scholarship from the archival community and allied professions, as well as reviews of other resources that have implications for archives and archivists.

rchival Issues, a semiannual journal published by the Midwest Archives Conference since 1975, has an international readership and is one of the premier outlets for archival literature. The journal focuses on the issues, challenges, and concerns confronting contemporary archivists. The Editorial Board welcomes submissions related to current archival practice and theory, archival history, and aspects of related professions of interest to archivists (e.g., records management, digital curation, oral history, etc.). We encourage a diversity of topics and points of view and will consider a wide range of potential submissions, including research articles, case studies, and opinion pieces. The journal also publishes reviews of current books and other resources about archival theory and practice. Although Archival Issues regularly publishes contributions from well-established professionals, the Editorial Board particularly encourages submissions from archivists who have not published previously.

Archival Science promotes the development of archival science as an autonomous scientific discipline. The journal covers all aspects of archival science theory, methodology, and practice. Moreover, it investigates different cultural approaches to creation, management and provision of access to archives, records, and data. It also seeks to promote the exchange and comparison of concepts, views and attitudes related to record keeping issues around the world

Archivaria, the journal of the Association of Canadian Archivists (ACA), is devoted to the scholarly investigation of archives in Canada and internationally. Articles and other submissions are welcomed which explore the history, nature, and theory of archives and the use of archives. The journal aims to be a bridge of communication among archivists, and between archivists and users of archives.

The Journal of Archival Organization ( JAO) is an international, peer-reviewed journal encompassing all aspects of the arrangement, description, and provision of access to all forms of archival materials.

Archival Outlook is SAA's award-winning bimonthly magazine. Articles focus on best practice and how-to pieces on timely and relevant topics, how archives are used by the public, and archivists on the job. In addition, the magazine updates readers on important association business and the work of SAA's many shared interest groups.