Archives and Special Collections Management

Students interested in history and/or cultural studies may find the archival field useful to their studies in research but also as a career. Preserving the past helps us learn about our struggles and achievements. Our past helps us understand our current

DIVERSITY AND INCLUSION - SOCIETY OF AMERICAN ARCHIVIST

Diversity and Inclusion

The Society of American Archivists is committed to ensuring the diversity of its membership and leaders, the profession, and the archival record. SAA promotes the value and diversity of archives and archivists. We are the preeminent source of professional resources and the principal communication hub for American archivists. — SAA Mission Statement, Strategic Plan 2014-201

SAA Groups Engaged in Some Aspect(s) of Diversity/Inclusion:

Diversity Committee
Cultural Heritage Working Group
Archives and Archivists of Color Roundtable
International Archival Affairs Roundtable
Issues and Advocacy Roundtable
Latin American and Caribbean Cultural Heritage Archives Roundtable
Lesbian and Gay Archives Roundtable
Native American Archives Roundtable
Students and New Archives Professionals Roundtable
Women Archivists Roundtable
Women’s Collections Roundtable
Mosaic Program Advisory Group and Mosaic Program Selection Committee
Mosaic Scholarship Subcommittee of the Awards Committee
Diversity Award Subcommittee of the Awards Committee
Harold T. Pinkett Travel Award Subcommittee of the Awards Committee

SAA Group Actions and Initiatives

Diversity Committee / Native American Archives Roundtable: Native American Protocols Forum Final Report (January 2012)
Archivists and Archives of Color Roundtable Diversity Speaker Survey (2012)²
Diversity in Archives and Records Management Survey (December 2008)³
Task Force on Diversity Final Report (February 1999)

SAA Council Discussions and Actions

SAA Council Refines Strategic Plan, Focuses on Diversity and Cultural Competency (November 2014)
A Few Words on Diversity (Off the Record blog post by Danna Bell, May 2014))
Poll: What Does Diversifying the Archival Record Mean to You? (2013)¹
SAA Council Adopts Diversity Statement, Best Practices for Working with Researchers/Archives Employees with Disabilities (August 2010)
Discussion: Defining Diversity (February 2010)
Resolution on SAA’s Equal Opportunity/Nondiscrimination Policy (February 2009)
SAA Resolution on Diversity (August 2002)

Last Updated: Nov 20, 2024 3:30 PM
URL: https://umalibguides.uma.edu/Introduction_to_Archives

Subjects: Information & Library Science

Accessibility Statement
The University provides reasonable accommodations to individuals with disabilities upon request. Any person with a disability who needs accommodations for a workshop should contact UMA Libraries at uma.library@maine.edu to submit a request. Due to the lead-time needed to arrange certain accommodations, individuals should submit their request no later 1 week before the event.